Composting & recycling

Biocups are Recyclable

Our hot and cold paper BioCups are coated with a plant-based bioplastic and they are recyclable in many areas throughout Australia and New Zealand – just like milk cartons. There is a lot of confusion in this area from industry and the consumer, we are contacting every council in Australia and New Zealand to raise awareness.

read more about recycling (PDF)

Did you know?

Trees are the main resource in the paper production, a tonne of paper consumes approximately 20 full-grown trees while recycling 1 tonne of paper saves 13 trees.


To make just one tonne of paper out of virgin material over 90,000 litres of precious water are used which will landfill 450 rain barrels.


Landfills are not designed to break down trash, only to bury it. The trash in a landfill will remain unchanged for a very long time. When organic products such as paper and food do begin to biodegrade in a landfill, they release methane. A greenhouse gas 84 times more potent than CO2.

Greenhouse gas emissions

When paper goes to land landfill it produces dangerous greenhouse gases during decomposition. But already the production of paper emits 1.46 tonnes of greenhouse gases per tonne of paper.

Recycling Facts

Each tonne of paper that is recycled saves: almost 13 trees, 2.5 barrels of oil, 4100 kWh of electricity, 4 cubic metres of land landfill and 31, 780 litres of water.

By recycling paper and cardboard 51% of the environmental impact of using virgin material can be saved.

Together we can recover almost 18,000 tonnes of paper hot cups simply by raising awareness that this resource is recoverable.

Paper Cup Recycling in Australia and New Zealand

  • Armidale Dumareq Council
  • Byron Shire Council
  • Gosford City Council
  • Lismore City Council
  • Moree Plains Shire Council
  • Murrumbidgee Shire Council
  • Port Stephens Council
  • Randwick City Council
  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Snowy River Shire
  • Tamworth Regional Council
  • Tenter eld Shire Council
  • Tumbarumba Shire
  • Wyong Shire Council
  • All ACT Councils
  • Cambridge Town
  • Manjimup Shire
  • Perth City
  • Brisbane City Council
  • Moreton Bay Regional Council
  • Scenic Rim Regional Council
  • Southern Downs Regional Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Whitsunday Regional Council
  • Frankston City Council
  • Glen Eira Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Melbourne City Council
  • Monash City Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Moreland City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Port Phillip City Council
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • Warnabool City Council
  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • Alexandria Council
  • Barossa Council
  • City of Mount Gambier
  • City of Onkaparinga
  • City of Playford
  • City of Port Adelaide En eld
  • City of Salisbury
  • City of Unley
  • City of Victor Harbor
  • District Council of Cleve
  • District Council of Yankalilla
  • Kangaroo Island Council
  • Town of Gawler